The American Microchemical Society has chosen an awardee for the 2010 A.A. Benedetti-Pichler Award in Microchemistry.

It is Dr. Joel Harris Dr. Joel Harris of the University of Utah.   Congratulations to him and we look forward to an outstanding symposium at the 2010 Eastern Analytical Symposium.

A complete list of previous award winners is below.

The nominations for the 2011 award are now requested.

The A. A. Benedetti-Pichler Award recognizes outstanding research in the field of microchemistry in its broadest sense.  The award also recognizes administration, teaching and other activities that promote and advance microchemistry.

Nominations should include:  1) letters from within the nominee's home institution, 2) at least three letters from outside the nominee's home institution, 3) a professional summary, and 4) a bibliography of publications.  The letters of nomination should emphasize the candidate's accomplishments and the impact of his or her work on the field of microchemistry.  Nominations and eligibility are not restricted to members of the Society and nominations from beyond North America are welcome.  Nominees from past years are eligible for re-nomination, but all information, including letters of nomination, should be updated.  The award consists of a plaque and a symposium in the awardee's honor at the 2011 Eastern Analytical Symposium & Exposition in SomersetNJ.

The Microchemical Journal is the scientific publication of the American Microchemical Society.  In conjunction with the award symposium, the awardee is eligible to have a special issue of the Microchemical Journal published in his or her honor.

Three copies of nominations should be sent by October 31, 2010 to:

Dr. Joseph Sneddon, Chair of the A.A. Benedetti-Award Committee
Department of Chemistry
McNeese State University
Lake Charles, LA 70609-0455
Phone: (337) 475-5781
FAX: (337) 475-5234

Past Recipients of the A.A. Benedetti-Pichler Award:

1966 J.F. Alicino
1967 Felix L. Schneider
1968 W. Kirsten
1969 B.B. Cunningham
1970 Walter C. McCrone
1971 L.T. Skeggs
1972 L.C. Craig
1974 E. Sawicki
1975 Petr Zuman
1976 T.S. Ma
1977 George H. Morrison
1978 Joseph Jordan
1979 A. Steyermark
1980 H. Alber
1981 P. Flashka
1982 P. Lott
1983 Louis Meites
1984 B. Zak
1985 Lockhart "Buck" Rogers
1986 Wilhelm Simon
1987 David M. Hercules
1988 Richard F. Browner
1989 K.L. Cheng
1990 Peter W. Carr
1991 Nicholas Winograd
1992 Robert G. Michel
1993 Peter C. Uden
1994 Isiah M. Warner
1995 Leslie C. Ebdon
1996 Daniel W. Armstrong
1997 John G. Dorsey
1998 Purnendu K. Dasgupta
1999 Jonathan V. Sweedler
2000 Andrew G. Ewing
2001 Robert T. Kennedy
2002 Fred M Hawkridge
2003 Joseph Sneddon
2004 Jorge Gardea-Torresdey
2005 Frank Bright
2006 Steve Soper
2007 Robin Garrell
2008 Janusz B. Pawliszyn
2009 Yong-Ill Lee
2010 Joel Harris

AMS Homepage